The experts in domestic and international safety standards and codes.


For equipment intended for use in areas where explosive concentrations of dusts or vapors are present, compliance with the ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU is necessary before placing a CE marking on the equipment.

The ATEX Directive is available for download at:

Equipment intended for use in combustible atmospheres is categorized as follows:

Equipment-group I Category M 1 and M2 – Equipment for use in mines
Equipment-group II Category  1, 2 and 3 –  Equipment other than that for use in mines

Equipment required to be confirmed compliant through a Notified Body:

Equipment Group I, Categories M1
Equipment Group II, Category 1 (Zone 0 or 20)
Equipment Group I and II, Category M2 and 2 with electrical designs or combustion engines (Zones 1 and 21)

Equipment Allowed to be Self Certified:

Equipment Group I and II, Cat M2 and 2 non electrical / non-combustion engine (Zones 1 and 21)
Equipment Group II, Cat 3 all equipment (Zones 2 and 22)

We can provide full evaluation services for equipment allowed to be self certified.  However we are not a Notified Body so for other equipment we can provide consulting services to aid in submittal to the Notified Body as well as establish agent services to complete the evaluation.

Call us for a quote! 708.599.7174